Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Creating and sharing

For me, creativity is so much about sharing.

Sometimes it is wonderful to create something without thinking about the end result, what it is for, who it is for, or even indeed what on earth is it??

However, as a social creature, I love to share.

I love sharing skills, so that others can go on and use them and be inspired, but more than anything else, I love seeing that twinkle in our eyes, when creative magic does it’s stuff. You know, that moment when you realise that you just made something that you thought you ‘couldn’t’. That moment when something ‘clicks’ or comes together.

I have heard so many stories from people I have worked with, about teachers or other not-so-well-meaning adults telling them that they were “rubbish”, “no good”, “never going to get anywhere with art”. I can put that in speech marks, because it was said to me.

This isn’t a two fingers up to Mr Whatshisname, my old Design and Technology teacher, but a call out to us all to have a go, and to support and encourage others to have a go, because sometimes there is no bigger killer of creativity than the ‘you can’t do that’.

Luckily, for me, I like to prove a point and ignored him anyway, then asked my Mum to tell him when she saw him years later, that I did an art degree and passed, and now I work in the creative field. Okay, I do secretly hope he reads this, I confess.

So, when I work with you, whether you are a child or adult, I will say what your strengths are, suggest ways of approaching things that will let your own creativity come through, share inspiring work from other artists and makers. We will laugh, share stories, come together as a group, learn loads, and create something to be proud of, whatever that may be.

I work with children from any age, up to adults of any age too! I work in schools, with home-schooled children, in woodlands/forest schools, can train teachers/teaching assistants/carers/occupational therapists in skills, work with adults and children with additional needs, make work with carers, community groups, in hospitals and so much more.

My main skills are in textiles, puppetry and character making, but I also have skills in performance, site specific work, writing, storytelling, installation, drawing, painting and paper sculpture.

Below are some examples of children’s work, made with me, using textile puppetry, shadow puppetry, and simple but effective marionette making. So much fun, so simple, cost effective and teaches a multitude of skills, especially social, emotional and verbal. I always start an end workshops with stories, as I feel that storytelling is like ‘social glue’.

I would love to hear from you. I look forward to creating with you.

x

This entry was posted in: Uncategorized

by

Making is my passion in life, and so is sharing skills in order to enable others to make. I love stitch, puppetry, paint, drawing and storytelling. My aim is for the things I make to be beautiful, useful and durable, to lessen the impact on our incredible earth. Making something personal is a total joy, and I hope for my creations to bring a smile, and be loved. Make, do and mend. With love X

Leave a Reply

